History & Culture

Vihiga County is home to different communities originating from many different parts of this great nation Kenya. However, the 4 major indigenous Sub-tribes that call Vihiga County home and add to the rich culture of this great County are; Maragoli people, Banyore People, Tiriki People and the Terik People


Just like all other Bantu and luhya people in particular, the Banyore migrated from the Congo Basin in the 17th and 18th Centuries. They settled in the land which resonates with their name –Bunyore land. They are neighboured by the idakho people at kilingili, the abakisa to the west, Maragoli to the East and the Luo to the south.

Today they live in two sub-counties and constituencies namely Emuhaya and Luanda. They occupy the western part of Vihiga County.They have over 20 clans and occupy two sub-counties of Emuhaya and Luanda. A good number of Abanyole live in the diaspora and quite a number have settled in lugari settlement scheme.


Terik people are an agro-pastoralist indigenous minority community of Kalenjin group resident in what remains of their ancestral lands in Vihiga, Kisumu and Nandi Counties of Kenya.

This community has for far too long, been a silent victim of the “violence of neglect” resulting from historical injustices.

These injustices have violated their fundamental Human Rights and marginalized them to periphery of society from where they eke a drab and precarious existence. Therefore, without that concentrate of past experience which we find in history, without a proper understanding of their past, Terik people would still continue to be at the mercy of impulse and prejudice, lacking in balance and moral probity