Ezekiel Ayiego Takes Oath of Office as New Vihiga County Secretary

The Vihiga County human resource has today received a major boost after Ezekiel Marley Ayiego was sworn in as the new County Secretary.

In an event held today at the County headquarters and filled with pomp,the function saw attendance from leaders drawn from both the county executive and legislature.

Vihiga Governor Dr. Wilber Ottichilo thanked all stakeholders involved in the recruitment process, acknowledging that basing on the results presented to him by the County Public Service Board, Ayiego was indeed the best. ‘Out of the 22 who applied and 8 who were shortlisted, Ezekiel Ayiego scored the highest. I have confidence in him and I believe he will deliver,’ the Governor said.

Dr. Ottichilo noted that the new county secretary’s first task will be streamlining the county workforce, specifically addressing issues to do with staff audit, promotions and fairness to all employees. His main point of reference was Articles 10 and 232 of the Kenyan Constitution that talks about Principles of Governance and Public Service respectively.

Representing the legislature wing, County Assembly Deputy Speaker Zachariah Murefu urged Ayiego to make them proud as a committee for the choice they made by focusing on what he’s supposed to deliver.

In his speech, the new county secretary promised to create a skilled manpower, empower youth, protect interests of the marginalized among others. The immediate former principal of Chesamis Boys high School stated that his duties will be anchored on implementing the county strategic plan,maintaining effective collaboration and ensuring efficient and effective management of resources.

Also sworn in was the new commissioner to the County Public Service Board Doris Mudeizi, representing interests of people with disabilities.

In attendance were Deputy Governor Dr. Patrick Saisi, Public Service Board led by Chairperson Amb. Franklin Esipila, CECMs Pamela Kimwele(Public Service), Mariita Agufana(Environment), Prof. Enonda Mwanje(Transport),Dr. Amos Kutwa (Health), Chief Officers Philip Gavuna(Public Service) Dr. Richard Boiyo(Environment), Gilbert Vidija(Trade), Dominic Luvavo(Sports),Pamela Busungu(Agriculture) and a host of MCAs led by Deputy Speaker Zachariah Murefu and Majority Leader Henry Asava.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard